Dans la cuisine // In the kitchen [Part 3]

A summer salad in November:

IMAG0686

After pasta, salad is one of my absolute favorite foods. My go-to salad as a kid was simply lettuce, cucumber, and garlic powder. These days I like to spice things up a bit.

For the salad shown here I trimmed, seasoned (herbes de provence and garlic powder), and baked chicken breast. While the chicken was cooking I sliced red grapes, strawberries, cucumbers, and red onion.

Usually I eat romaine lettuce but recently I have been buying heads of baby bibb lettuce, which is what I used here.

Once the chicken was done I added it to the salad and topped it off with copious amounts of feta. Oddly enough for someone who isn’t so fond of cheese, I can never get enough feta.

I always use olive oil and balsamic vinager as my dressing. I came across a pleasant surprise in my cupboard one day – a thicker, sweeter balsamic vinager (Velours de Balsamique) that has made a delicious addition to several different meals I’ve made.

One such meal is the bruschetta I made for an afternoon snack.

IMAG0558

Bruschetta, and its cousin the Caprese salad, are two more favorites of mine. They are both quick and simple yet delicious snacks or appetizers.

Slice a fresh, warm baguette and brush it with olive oil.

Slice a mozzarella ball and dice a tomato. Top the baguette slices then drizzle with oil, balsamic vinager and Italian-style spices.

Bon Appétit!

2 thoughts on “Dans la cuisine // In the kitchen [Part 3]

Leave a Reply

