Les vacances de Noël: Cagnes-sur-Mer // Christmas vacation : Cagnes-sur-Mer

IMAG1968

While not part of our original itinerary, my family and I decided to make a quick trip to Cagnes-sur-Mer the morning of New Year’s Eve. We caught the bus in Nice (there are several different buses that drive similar routes through Cagnes) and took it to the center of Cagnes-sur-Mer. From there we took the free shuttle up to the Bourg Médiéval, the oldest quarter in Cagnes. The shuttle runs continuously throughout the day on a fifteen minute circuit. Having taken the shuttle before, I knew we were in for an interesting ride, twisting and turning through the tight alleyways of the old village.

Upon arriving at the top, we entered the Château Musée Grimaldi, immediately making our way to the rooftop terrace. The rooftop was closed during my first visit to the museum due to high winds, so I was excited to have the chance to experience it the second time around. The panoramic views of Cagnes were worth the second visit.

IMAG1990

Several cafés, restaurants, shops, and a hotel are accessible from the large courtyard outside of the Château as well. The ground floor of the hotel Le Grimaldi is home to the Restaurant Les Baux Haut de Cagnes, where we stopped for a cup of coffee after exploring the village. The crème brûlée of the week, advertised on the specials board, caught my eye as we found a seat on the patio. Without even bothering to ask what the flavor of the week was, my dad and I knew we had to try it.

IMAG2039

Pistachio crème brûlée; by far the best I’ve ever had.

I enjoyed the opportunity to share a bit of the town I work in with my family. Walking the streets of historic villages never gets old.

IMAG2014

Leave a Reply

